Review: P. S. I Still Love You

P.S. I Still Love YouP.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.

She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.

When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

Beware spoilers ahead!

If you have seen my review for the first book you’ll know that I didn’t love it, this is because I really didn’t like the romance aspect of the book. Though I did love the family dynamics. With that in mind I didn’t really know what to except out of this one. Was it going to be worse or better than the first? Was the romance actually going to start making sense to me? Would I love this one? The answer to all those questions is yes the romance did make sense to me, the story was better than To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, and I loved every bit of it!

P. S. I Still Love You picks up where the first book left out with Lara Jean written Peter a love note. It’s been six days since Lara Jean and Peter broke up. Lara Jean realizes that she has feelings for him and decides to give Peter the love letter in person (Margot and Kitty’s suggestion). Upon arriving at his house she gets cold feet and decides not to give it to him. Peter sees the letter sticking out of her pocket and manages to read it. They decide to get back together.

Shortly after they resume their relationship a video of their makeout in the hot tube from the previous book gets posted on Instagram. Lara Jean is absolutely mortified and rightfully so. The video does get taken down but the whispering and judging still continues.

As you have read in the synopsis there is another guy who comes into the book. The boy turns out to be John. One of the boys that she wrote a good-bye letter to in the first book. Specifically the one who didn’t send her letter back to her. John and Lara Jean start off as pen pals then later meet and become friends.

Lara Jean discovers that she falls hard for boys but that doesn’t necessarily mean she loves them. I personally found that while she liked John she never loved him the way she loved Peter. In other words the love triangle isn’t that bad in this book. It was obvious that she would be with Peter versus John.

Margot, Kitty and her father all support Lara Jean while she is trying to cope with the video scandal. The Song girls (Lara Jean and her sisters) agree that they’re father needs to get out more and start going on dates. Kitty spends the majority of the book trying to subtly set her father up with their neighbor Ms. Rothschild (the one who always spills coffee on herself in the morning). Margot supported through phone calls and video chats.

I really liked how Hans decided to bring up the video the way she did. It really shows how nothing on the internet is gone. Even when the video was deleted people still screenshot it and remixed it with some songs. Hans always showed how Lara Jean is judged while Peter is respected. I really happy that she showed that because I think that it is especially important for teens to read about how unfair and stupid it is.

As usual the family dynamics were fantastic! I found myself enjoying it more in this book. Probably because of how the family banded together to comfort Lara Jean throughout the whole ordeal with the video.

You can see in this book from beginning to end that, Lara Jean as well as the other characters have grown tremendously! All of her insecurities concerning Genevieve and the video were completely realistic.

Whereas Peter and John go I personally preferred Peter. I liked John but I found him to be perfect, he didn’t seem to have any flaws. Peter has plenty of flaws and he still manages to work out his relationship with Lara Jean.

It was really sweet to read about Lara Jean and Peters relationship and to see how it developed in the book. I loved how they would get into a fight and after some time they would hug it out. I started to like Peter even more after this book.

I would personally recommend this series to everyone because as readers we can all take something out of this series. Specifically from the characters. If you didn’t like the first book then I would still suggest trying this one. As it was much better than To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before in every aspect.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: P. S. I Still Love You

Leave a Reply

