Review: Girl On The Run

Girl On The RunGirl On The Run by B.R. Myers

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

When seventeen-year-old track and field star Jesse Collins’ dreams of a full scholarship are shattered after the sudden death of her dad, she leaves home to work as a summer camp counselor to escape the small town nosy stares…and her own secret guilt.

After a mix-up at registration, she’s put in charge of a boys’ cabin, and the head counselor, Kirk, predicts she won’t last the first two weeks. In the midst of fending off four twelve-year-old boys who are hell-bent on mortifying her and a growing attraction to Kirk, Jesse finds the inspiration to run again from an unlikely source. But getting her old life back isn’t that easy and soon Jesse will realize that a good pair of legs can take a girl far, but she’ll never outrun the truth.

Beware spoilers ahead!

DNF

A few years back I read Myers first book Butterflies Don’t Lie (originally named Busgirl Blues) from Wattpad. I fell in love with it! I was excited to hear that Myers would write another book in the same universe. In other words a companion book to Butterflies Don’t Lie. From reading the synopsis I thought I was going to love this book. Unfortunately I was wrong.

The book starts off with Jesse explaining that it has been a few months since her father passed away and that she was having a hard time moving on. Her best friend Chloe has been trying to set her up on blind dates so that she can make Jesse happy. It has not been working.

To get away from her town she decides to work at a camp for the summer. Upon reaching there she discovers that there was a mix up in her registration. The camp assumed that Jesse was a boy so they put her in charge of the boys cabin. Despite this she decides to continue working there. She quickly discovers that the boys she is in charge of are out to get her. Specifically Spencer whose father owns the camp.

The other part of the plot was of course the romance. Which is the reason why I didn’t enjoy it. Her grandmother predicted that her summer would be filled with lots of kissing. I did not care for the many boys she ended up kissing. I was far more interested in her relationships with the boys, and her working her way to moving on with her life. But the kissing was also a primary part of the book. That’s when I realized that I was no longer interested in the book and I dropped it.

I skimmed the whole book and I did discover that she does move on from her fathers death, she accomplishes a lot during her summer job and she manages to have good relationships with the boys. I simply couldn’t get over how stupid it was that she kisses all of these guys to continue reading.

I’m giving this a two star because of those good aspects even if I wasn’t able to pull through. I personally would not recommend this book. But you if have been really looking forward to reading this then go for it. Hopefully you’ll enjoy it more than I did.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Girl On The Run

Leave a Reply

