Review: Six of Crows

Six of CrowsSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. 

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. 

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Beware spoilers ahead!

Buddy read with Kelly and Cookie !

When I had first heard about this book I was hesitant. The synopsis sounded like Falling Kingdoms and I didn’t enjoy that book. It wasn’t until I started noticing all the 4-5 star reviews that I became excited. After some thinking I decided to ask my friends for buddy read and bought the book. I do not regret any of it! It was all worth it 🙂

This is book is divided into 6 parts and there are 5 point of views. You do not need to fear the author managed to pull it all off. The book starts off with Joost a stadwatch who is working for some rich man. The only thing keeping Joost at his job is Anya this nice Grisha healer. Upon looking for Anya he finds another man who says that Anya is gone and soon it will be him next. Confused Joost carries on. He is summoned by his boss. When he and another worker reach their destination he sees Anya and a boy. His boss orders Anya to heal said boy a few times. Then he orders her to take some powder they have provided her. She does so. They then cut the boys thumb and ask her to heal it. She does so and doesn’t even touch him. Joost at this point is completely confused as to what is happening. Then she somehow manages to control the guards and has them listen to her every command.

Readers and then taken to Inej’s point of view. From her point of view we get a first glimpse of some of the characters. After her point of view comes Kaz. As Kaz is taking a walk he sees someone come at him. He winds up kidnapped. He wakes up strapped to a hospital bed and demands to know where he is and why he has been kidnapped. The man who ordered him to be kidnapped name is Van Eck. Van Eck explains to Kaz that he wants Kaz to break into the Ice Court and free an man. The Ice Court is the best prison and no one has managed to break in. Kaz agrees and once freed sets off to getting a crew ready. I’m not going to mention why exactly Van Eck wants Kaz to do it because that would be spoiling a lot.

I think if I ever met Kaz in real life I would despise him. But because I was reading about him I actually found him to be refreshing. I don’t often read about characters like him let alone the rest of the characters. The book is written in third person which is meant to keep the characters mysterious and keep you guessing. You don’t really know any of the characters motives in the beginning and you don’t understand their reasons for the decisions they make.

All the characters were realistic in the situations they were in. As you have probably noticed for a heist book this is pretty big. This is because the author spends a lot of pages constructing her characters and revealing all of their backstories.

The story was pretty good and the heist was loads of fun to read about! I really liked the world the author created. I have never in my life read something so unique. I loved the idea of the Grisha and I was fascinated by their powers and how they worked. I’m a sucker for magic so this is no surprise. I found that the author managed to combine fantasy and heist very well.

Despite all the things I enjoyed I couldn’t bring myself to give this a 5 star. The story and the heist took a while to play out and I didn’t ship any of the couples. I can see them working out in my head but didn’t ship them in this book. Maybe when the second books comes out I will. And this book had a forbidden love as well as someone who kept on looking in the good in a person even though there didn’t seem to be anything good about said person. I know usually it’s awesome when people try to look for the good in people (I do it) but it was a little annoying in this book.

You don’t have to read the series before to understand this book. I haven’t read Shadow and Bone and I understood it. Overall this was a great read! I recommend it to fans of fantasy and heist novels.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

