Review: The Little Bookshop on the Siene

The Little Bookshop on the SeineThe Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Le Vie En Rose

Bookshop owner Sarah Smith has been offered the opportunity to exchange bookshops with her new Parisian friend for 6 months! And saying yes is a no-brainer – after all, what kind of a romantic would turn down a trip to Paris? Even if it does mean leaving the irresistible Ridge Warner behind, Sarah’s sure she’s in for the holiday of a lifetime – complete with all the books she can read!

Picturing days wandering around Shakespeare & Co, munching on croissants, sipping café au laits and people-watching on the Champs-Elysees Sarah boards the plane. But will her dream of a Parisian Happily-Ever-After come true? Or will Sarah realise that the dream isn’t quite as rosy in reality…

I received this E-ARC via Netgalley and Carina UK in exchange for an honest review.

DNF

This is going to be a very short review seeing as I didn’t even finish the first chapter. I’m also not going to put a spoiler tag in this review.

The book starts off with our main character Sarah putting up a 50% off sign on her bookstore. Its been a very hard time for her and she may have to close her bookstore. Her boyfriend then calls and says that he won’t be able to come and see her as he is busy with his work. And that is where I stopped reading.

I think what really threw me off was the conversation between Sarah and her boyfriend Ridge. I’m not really sure why this bothered me but it did. While the writing was pretty good I felt that it was too fluffy (especially considering that this is supposed to be adult fiction) and that there wouldn’t be anything deep about this book. Although I do enjoy fluffy books but there still has to be something to it. Like friendship or comedy. If that does later on play a big part in this book well then I’m sorry if I offended those who actually read it. I simply did not see the point in moving forward.

Also this is a second book in a series so I suppose that is part of the reason it was odd to read. In the first book Sarah and Ridge met and it also explains what her troubles were leading up to possibly closing the bookstore.

I do not recommend this book to anyone who has not read the previous book or the authors other works. That being said I do recommend it to people who enjoyed the first book and her other series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

