Review: Zeroes

ZeroesZeroes by Scott Westerfeld

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Don’t call them heroes.

But these six Californian teens have powers that set them apart. They can do stuff ordinary people can’t.

Take Ethan, a.k.a. Scam. He’s got a voice inside him that’ll say whatever you want to hear, whether it’s true or not. Which is handy, except when it isn’t—like when the voice starts gabbing in the middle of a bank robbery. The only people who can help are the other Zeroes, who aren’t exactly best friends these days.

Enter Nate, a.k.a. Bellwether, the group’s “glorious leader.” After Scam’s SOS, he pulls the scattered Zeroes back together. But when the rescue blows up in their faces, the Zeroes find themselves propelled into whirlwind encounters with ever more dangerous criminals. And at the heart of the chaos they find Kelsie, who can take a crowd in the palm of her hand and tame it or let it loose as she pleases.

Filled with high-stakes action and drama, Zeroes unites three powerhouse authors for the opening installment of a thrilling new series.

Beware spoilers ahead!

This book was recommended to me by Evelyn ! Click on her name to read her review.

DNF

After reading Evelyn’s review and the synopsis I knew I had to read it! Even more so after reading the tag line. I love the X-Men and Heroes! I thought that this book was written for me. Unfortunately though I didn’t enjoy it.

The book starts off with Ethan at a coffee shop talking about the amount of trouble he would be in if someone looked in his army duffel bag. It backs track a bit and explains the readers what is in the bag and the events that led up to a wrong gone bank robbery.

Readers discover that Ethan has this Voice which sometimes takes over his own voice. The Voice seems to know far too much about people that Ethan has never met and more often than not the Voice gets him into trouble.

You are told that while on a date with a really pretty girl-that was way out of his league-the Voice had spent all of Ethan’s money trying to impress the girl. He doesn’t drive and calling a cab would not work as he has no money. Ethan then decides to convince some stranger to drive him home while using the ‘Voice’ as his guide.

On purpose Ethan bumps into a big guy who is carrying an army duffel bag. He lets the Voice take over and manages to score a ride with this guy. During the drive Ethan realizes that this guy is trouble. He try’s to summon the Voice to get him out of the situation but nothing comes. Which means there is no way out.

I didn’t get that far to see what exactly led up to the bank robbery. But I did do some skimming. From what I gathered Ethan was at the bank with that former date of his when the robbery occurred. Ethan uses his the Voice to get him out of the situation. But it only made it worse. Apparently the voice knew the robbers name (Jerry) and the name of his daughter (Kelsie). And revealed some other personal information. Somehow this whole fiasco made it on to YouTube. I honestly do not know why somehow would bother taping that. Assuming it was someone in the bank, that would be pretty stupid considering they were about to be robbed.

Eventually Kelsie does come and hunt Ethan down to make him fix the mess that he caused. But that happens really far into the book. That was when I started wondering whether the plot would drag. And honestly making Kelsie Ethan’s love interest seemed silly. Especially considering the mess that Ethan caused.

I had two problems with this book. A) The bank robbery situation could’ve been avoided. While Ethan does not have control over what the Voice says he does have some control over it. It is implied that he can choose to use the Voice. If he had just not let the Voice led him into loosing all his money, none of the events of the book would’ve happened. He knew it was stupid and a waste of time to spend with that girl so really he could’ve avoided it. B) I couldn’t wrap my head around the powers. While the Voice was interesting it didn’t make any sense. I didn’t understand how this power worked. I tried putting a name to it and that didn’t work either. This really bothered me and I just couldn’t continue.

The only nice thing I have to say is I give the authors props for being unique in their superhero story and making up their own powers. Maybe had I done more skimming I would’ve had more nice things to say.

Overall I didn’t enjoy this but I don’t regret reading it either. I would recommend it to fans of the authors, people who would like to read a unique story, and those who have been looking forward to reading this. If you don’t fit in those categories then I wouldn’t recommend it.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Zeroes

Leave a Reply

