Review: Deep Blue

Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Deep in the ocean, in a world not so different from our own, live the merpeople. Their communities are spread throughout the oceans, seas, and freshwaters all over the globe. 

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil. Her dark premonitions are confirmed when an assassin’s arrow poisons Sera’s mother. Now, Serafina must embark on a quest to find the assassin’s master and prevent a war between the Mer nations. Led only by her shadowy dreams, Sera searches for five other mermaid heroines who are scattered across the six seas. Together, they will form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood and uncover a conspiracy that threatens their world’s very existence.

Beware spoilers ahead!

This was recommended to me by my GR friend Alyssa ! Click on her name to read her review. A few years ago back when this book came out I thought that it was some silly mermaid book. I wasn’t a fan of mermaid books so I thought that it would be best if I didn’t read it. The synopsis didn’t grab me either. Then I came across Alyssa’s review I knew I had to at least give it a try. I am very happy to see that I enjoyed it!

The book starts off with a prologue. In the prologue there are some water witches who are performing a ritual/spell trying to keep a monster Abandon at bay. The witches then proceed to do a chant in which it is mentioned that six girls have to stop the monster.

The readers are then taken to Serafina who is waking up from a nightmare involving witches, a chant, and a monster. She is woken up by her mother. That night she will be tested to see if she is fit to rule and her betrothal to her best friends cousin will be official.

Her mother are her and are not close. Most of the time her mother is pressuring her to be perfect then other times she is disappointed in Sera. Sera is absolutely nervous about the night is going to bring. She has an unsettling feeling partly because of her dream and partly because she is going to see her betrothed after two years. At this point she is not sure whether or not he truly cares for her.

As she is about to get ready for the night she sees someone in her mirror. It was the woman from the dream. Sera thinks that this is impossible but as if she is in some sort of a trance she reaches for the mirror to follow the woman through. She is interrupted when a man with fully black eyes starts approaching Sera. He is about to come into her room when Sera screams altering one of the palace staff.

She decides to forget about what happened and stars getting ready for her test. She manages to get through the first test without too much trouble. As she has finished her second test the palace is attacked by assassins. Her mother ends up with a poisoned arrow through her side. Sera and Neela (her best friend) flee and thus starts their journey for the witches and the other girls mentioned in the prophecy.

While I sat there reading about the attack I was absolutely terrified! The action was unstop and it was extremely terrifying what all the girls went through in this book. And there are deaths in this book! I so did not except any of this! I thought that it was silly and boring mermaid book. I am so happy to be proven wrong!

Sera and Neela’s friendship was so sweet! I was smiling like a fool every time I read about to two of them. Ling, Becca, and Ava were really nice as well. I don’t know enough about Astrid to like her character nor dislike her character. I was so surprised by the tremendous growth that Neela and Serafina went through in this book. That doesn’t normally happen in the first book of the series.

The idea behind the mer world fascinated me! I liked reading about waterwitches. The best part of this book are the diverse characters. Neela is an Indian, Astrid is from Greenland, Ling is from China, Ava who is blind is from Mississippi, Becca is from Atlantica (an ancient continent that formed about 2,000 million years ago) and I think Serafina is from Italy. Nearby her kingdom is Venice. The characters were also realistic.

The only reason that this isn’t a five star is because while I love the overall plot of the series and the direction it’s headed, I didn’t love this book. But nonetheless I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Overall this was a great read! I am eagerly waiting the sequels. I recommend it to anyone who wants to read a good mermaid series, fantasy fans, and a book series in which there are great female friendships.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

