Review: The Mark of Noba

The Mark of Noba by G.L. Tomas

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Sterling Wayfairer has one goal for his senior year: make his mark. He’s been slipping into the background his whole high school career—distracted by his mother’s mental health, unsettled by the vivid dreams that haunt him at night, and overshadowed by the athletic accomplishments of his popular best friends. But this year is going to be different. He’s going to break a few rules, have some fun, and maybe even work up the nerve to ask his crush out on a date.

But things don’t go exactly as planned. Students are disappearing, Sterling starts losing time, and it all seems to center around Tetra, a girl no one else seems to notice but him. When he finally tracks her down for answers, they aren’t what he expects: He and Tetra hail from a world called Noba, and they’re being hunted by a Naga, a malevolent shapeshifter that’s marked them for destruction.

Tetra and Sterling have distinct abilities that can help them fight back, but their power depends heavily on the strength of their bond, a connection that transcends friendship, transcends romance. Years apart have left their bond weak. Jumpstarting it will require Sterling to open his heart and his mind and put his full trust in the mysterious Tetra.

If he doesn’t, neither of them will survive.

Beware spoilers ahead!

I recieved this E-ARC via Netgalley and Rebellious Valkyrie Press in exchange for an honest review.

DNF

Once I saw this on Netgalley I thought that why not give it shot. While it didn’t sound like my kind of read (a lot of books I’ve enjoyed didn’t) I thought that it would be entertaining if anything. But I was wrong.

The book is written in first person specifically with Sterling’s point of view. Sterling explains readers that back when he started high school he was just this nobody. He was solely associated with his friends. Not as himself. To start making a reputation for himself by attending some parties. This involves him breaking some rules specifically curfew rules.

As he makes his own through the window into his house his mom is waiting for him. His mother naturally gets mad at him and the two get into a fight. Sterling argues that he wouldn’t be breaking any rules if he had a later curfew time. While his mother retorts that he would have a later curfew time if he actually starts getting good grades. His mother then explains that some boys in the area are missing and that’s part of the reason she was worried.

I didn’t really like Sterling’s character. Back when I was in high school I didn’t care too much about trying to make a name for myself whereas Sterling does. Honestly I’ve never understood why people care about that, when there is more to life than high school and reputation. Due to this I didn’t see the point of proceeding. Sterling isn’t a character that I want to read about.

Overall this was not enjoyable. I can’t bring myself to recommend this to anyone.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

