Review: Firebolt

FireboltFirebolt by Adrienne Woods

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

For the love of blueberries, Elena Watkins was destined for greatness, even though she didn’t know it. Before entering Paegeia Elena was not special, she wasn’t even average until the night her father was killed by a creature she thought only existed in fairy tales – a dragon. With her father’s death leaving her orphaned, Elena is whisked away to her true birthplace, Paegeia. Arriving at Dragonia Academy, the premier school for young Dragonians; a school she was never meant to attend because her father was a dragon. Unbeknownst to Elena danger is lurking behind the enchanted vines concealing the once thriving capital of Paegeia – Etan. Goran, the darkest sorcerer in the realm, has lain dormant for over a century behind the crumbling city. There, in the shadowy ruins he plots his revenge to destroy the only weapon that can kill him – the King of Lion Sword. When the sword is stolen without a trace Elena doesn’t think twice about seeking it; knowing deep down that it is her destiny to save her new home.

DNF

When I first heard of this book I was excited to read this. I immediately tried looking in my library for it but was disappointed to see that it wasn’t there. I then proceeded to read the sample from iBooks to see if I would like it. Unfortunately I did not.

I don’t remember that much about it hence why I am not using a spoiler tag. The book begins with Elena’s father is trying to rush her into packing as they are leaving. Readers are told that they move frequently. Choosing that moment Elena try’s to throw a fit but gets ushered into packing.

While they are driving away they get attacked by a dragon. Elena discovers that all those stories her father told her about dragons are true. Her father and her separate. She wakes up in Paegia and is told that her father was murdered. This doesn’t count as spoilers because it happens early in the book and also the synopsis mentions that her father was killed.

I really did not like the writing style in this book. And because of that I couldn’t stand it when Elena started throwing a fit about leaving yet again and not understanding why they had to move. I have read about similar fits before and it has never bothered me. The writing style irked me so much that I couldn’t bring myself to read it.

Overall I didn’t enjoy this. But I don’t regret it. If you really want to read this then I would suggest trying to read a sample to see if you are alright with the writing style. I would also recommend it to fans of dragon books.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

