Review: Triple Moon

Triple Moon by Melissa de la Cruz

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of Blue Bloods and Witches of East End

After they cause a terrible accident at their old high school, twin witches Mardi and Molly Overbrook are sent to live with their “Aunt” Ingrid Beauchamp in North Hampton, on Long Island’s mist-shrouded East End. Because the twins cannot control their powers, their father begs Ingrid to tame them over the summer, before the White Council exiles the girls to Limbo.

Trouble continues to bubble and boil when the girls meet the younger Gardiner boys, who are just as handsome and sexy as their older kin. But all is not as it seems. As Ingrid helps the girls learn to control their magical impulses, Mardi and Molly have just this summer to figure out how to grow up, how to love, and how to be a family.

Beware spoilers ahead!

When I first heard about this book I was hesitant. It didn’t sound like my kind of witch read. I have heard of Melissa de la Cruz . Click on her name to access her GR profile. She is extremely well known for writing Blue Bloods. When I went through the reviews I found positive ones. So I decided to try it. I am happy to say that I liked it!

This book is written in third person in Mardi and Molly’s point of views. It also has chapter titles such as: I Knew You Were Trouble Part One, Red Red Wine, Girls Just Wanna Have Fun, and other song titles. They were pretty funny! Hence why I put this in comedy.

The books begins with a prologue. Mardi and Molly are attending Bret Farley’s party. Bret happens to be fairly popular so the twins decided to go. During the party Bret flirts with Mardi and Molly. This is the first time the twins have been attracted to the same guy. And they are extremely jealous. The last thing the twins remember was Bret flirting with them. After that it is a blur. They arise the next morning extremely drained and tired. They don’t even fight over the breakfast like they usually do. They then receive word that Sam and Parker they’re classmates were pushed on the train tracks and run over by a train.

Mardi and Molly are not at all happy that they have to spend their summer at East End learning how to control their magic. She and Molly are spoiled brats, so they assumed that their summer would be in New York hanging out with friends and shopping. They also think that because they are Thor’s daughters therefore Goddesses they are better than anyone else. But after they are the prime suspects in murdering Parker and Sam their father enlisted the help of Ingrid and her family.

It’s not very surprising that they are the suspects as they usually pull horrible pranks on their teachers and peers. For example Mardi is getting a speeding ticket. To avoid this she makes him talk super fast making it seem like harassment. She then shuts his mouth and walks away without getting a ticket.

Despite not remembering the events of the party they know for sure that they did not kill Parker and Sam. They use their magic for pranks, manipulation, and revenge. Not for murdering anyone. Unless they get their magic under control The White Counsel is threatening to have the girls sent to the Underworld.

Whilst arriving they are introduced to Ingrid, her husband Matt, and their two children Joanna and Henry. Some time after they meet Freya who is Ingrid’s sister and the Gardiner’s. Their father wants them to take care of Jo and Henry on occasions as well as get summer jobs. To top it all off they are starting to investigate the murders of Parker and Sam. Someone else was behind the murders but wants to let Molly and Mardi take the blame…

This book was a breath of fresh air! I really liked the writing style and how well the author did in shaping Molly and Mardi. I do love a well written brat. Jo and Henry were so sweet! I loved them! Freya and Ingrid were awesome and treated the twins with such warmth and when necessary put their foots down. Matt was a good father and husband.

The writing style was good! I liked how the author brought out the expensive taste the twins had and how they were absolutely spoiled. It was interesting to read about how Norse mythology was linked the their magic. Very unique! The plot was good as well. It was nice to read about the twins getting along and their growth.

I had a few problems with this. When I got this book from the library and I started reading it, I was curious as to where the plot would head. I skimmed a bit and while I didn’t understand what I read I was content with the book. As I started reading I got very curious about a certain thing. And in the process of skimming the book to find this certain thing I ended up figuring out the whole plot. I feel that this kind of ruined it for me. Not too much though. I probably would’ve have seen some of it coming and rated it 3 stars.

I really did not like the romance. Molly’s character while she grows she spends a majority of the book with two guys. I felt that it was a waste of her character although I understand why it was necessary for the plot. I felt really bad for her! She went through quite a lot of ordeal. Mardi’s romance was not that much better. I didn’t dislike Trent but nor did I like him. I guess I didn’t really care for his character. The romance between them was fast and I didn’t understand how they were in love.

There were multiple times in this book with Molly and Mardi talking about if the guys they were with were different they would totally hex them. Specially when they made physical contact. Basically if someone they went to school with tried say touching their back or flirting with them they would use their magic on said males to shut them up. But because the guys they were with were different they didn’t do any of that. Instead they kept on repeating what they would’ve done had they been different people. It was frustrating.

The book also mentions that the twins have been fighting more often. I didn’t really feel this. It just felt like normal bickering. Yes they were keeping each others boyfriends’ a secret but that didn’t seem all that weird. They just didn’t want the other to know how they were with. Sure it was a bit strange but I still didn’t understand how that amounted to them bickering more.

There wasn’t a lot of training with Ingrid. There was a Jean who kept on coming to check on their memories of the night Parker and Sam were killed. But aside from that there wasn’t anything else. There was a larger focus on the romance than anything else. The case of course was still a focus but not as large as the romance. There were some parts of the book that were confusing. I feel that this author tried to pull off to much in this book. While it didn’t completely fail it wasn’t fantastic. Simply entertaining.

I still did enjoy this book despite it’s flaws. It had a nice ending and the twins were able to resolve the murders, avoid The White Counsel, and return home to their school.

Overall this was a good book! I kind of hope that the author will continue Molly and Mardi’s story. It would be nice to see where they are at in the future. I will definitely read some more books by this author. If anyone is looking for a fast, fairly well done fantasy, then I would recommend this. Also if anyone has ever tried to imagine what Blair Waldorf would be like with magic, you should for sure read this.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

