Review: Emmy & Oliver

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?

Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.

She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.

Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.

He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?

Readers who love Sarah Dessen will tear through these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story.

This book was recommended to me by my dear GR friend Lola ! Click on her name to see her review.

DNF

Back when I first read the synopsis it didn’t sound that great. It sounded odd. I assumed that it would be contemporary and possibly a thriller. I mean Oliver was kidnapped. So I figured it wouldn’t be worth it. But then all the positive reviews started coming. So after reading Lola’s review I decided to request it from my library. Unfortunately I did not enjoy this. I will only be mentioning the events from the flash back and some information from the first chapter. Thus there is no need for a spoiler tag.

The book begins with a flash back. Emmy and Oliver have been best friends since they were born. They were born on the same day and their parents are also friends with each other. In the flash back Oliver and Emmy are in second grade. Caro (short for Caroline) passes a note to Oliver during math class.

Emmy is completely surprised by this as she could get in trouble and they’re supposed to be paying attention to the lesson. Oliver looks at the note and replies. Emmy and Caro meet at the end of the day and Caro gives Emmy the note she passed to Oliver. Caro asked Oliver if he liked Emmy. He circled ‘Yes’ three times. Emmy tries to go and talk to Oliver but his father drives away quickly.

We are then taken to present day. It has been 10 years since Oliver was kidnapped by his father. It didn’t seem out of the ordinary at the time. Until Oliver didn’t show up to his mothers house (his parents are divorced). Oliver’s mom then called the police. His mother has not moved since nor cleared out his old bedroom in case he returns. She has gotten remarried and now has two daughters.

Emmy’s family have not moved since either. The rest of their neighborhood did but they remained. Since then Emmy’s parents have put a lot of restrictions on her. Emmy is surfing (behind her parents back) when Caroline informs her that Oliver has come back. She is in complete shock and the two agree to come with an excuse as to why her hair is wet.

This was a case of ‘It’s not you but me’. I couldn’t stand the writing style. While I was reading it I was thinking of ways that I could reword the sentences. I simply couldn’t take it and dropped it.

Overall I did not like this. But I still do highly recommend it. This book has a lot of promising aspects to it. How will Oliver adjust to his life? How the neighborhood with adjust to Oliver’s return? How will Emmy and Oliver work out their issues so that they could be more than friends? How and why did Oliver return? And why did his father take him away? I am positive that contemporary fans will enjoy this. I hope you all enjoy it more than I did!

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Emmy & Oliver

  1. It’s funny how I read this book, but remember very little about it. Oh, that’s right, the dad kidnaps his son and everybody freaks out when he comes back. Hm. Well, I liked the atmosphere and the characters, but the story, of what I remember, did lack detail from the guy’s POV. Sorry you didn’t like the writing style. Happens, and I totally relate to the rewording problem =) Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

