Review: The Distance Between Us

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

Beware spoilers ahead!

This book was recommended to me by Alyssa ! Click on her name to read her review.

When I heard about this book back in February I added it to my shelf. Every now and then I go through my list re-read the synopsis for all the books and remove some books from my list. I did that with this book along with Kasie West’s other books. I thought that they were shallow chick lits. But then I read The Fill-In Boyfriend and I was in awe. I went back and added all her books. I am happy to say that I enjoyed this!

The book begins with Caymen trying to understand a math equation. She hears the door open to her mothers porcelain doll shop. She stops what she’s doing to stare at her customer. The customer is a male and judging by what he is wearing he’s loaded. He continues to talk on his phone and beckons Caymen over. She approaches him and he asks her opinion on a doll for his grandmother. She does so along with some sarcasm and dry wit.

A few days after this Xander comes in again. She then finds out he is the grandson of their most frequent customer Mrs. Dalton. After some more interactions Xander decides to help Caymen find something to do with her life as she does not like working in the doll store. And in exchange she must do the same for him.

Caymen’s mother give birth to her when she was a teenager. Her parents disowned her and the fathers parents made her sign a contract saying that they won’t pay for child support. Using some of the money her parents gave her she opened up a porcelain doll store. After her experience she has been warning Caymen to stay away from rich boys. She and Caymen have this regular thing in which they’ll watch the rich, analyze them, and make fun of them. All of this changed when Caymen and Xander got to know each other.

Over multiple interactions she figured out that he is different from the rest of the rich and he’s really nice to her. She still struggles to accept this and she has some other problems. Her mother has been having a hard time with the bills they owe and money wise they’re not doing so great. They don’t get too many customers as it is. Then there’s the pressure to go to college and trying to make a life for herself.

Xander does not get along with his father. He thinks that his father is trying to mold him to be just like his father. His father is handing the hotel business to him as he doesn’t seem to have anything else to do. To try and avoid this he suggests the ‘Career’ days with Caymen.

I felt pretty bad from Caymen and could understand where she is coming from. I liked her character, the author did a good job writing about her. It was easy to understand why she sacrificed everything for the shop and her mom.

It was fun to read about the ‘Career’ days. I loved how they went from being friends to something more. My favourite type of romance is slow burn. There is a bit of a love triangle. After meeting Xander, Caymen met this other guy and for some time she decides to try and date him. She later realizes that she likes Xander more than him.

In the beginning I didn’t like Caymen’s best friend Skye. I seriously did not understand her need to give Caymen a ‘life’. Caymen was pretty content with her life. She did grow on me and I liked reading about their friendship. I came to realize that she was trying to make Caymen even happier and I was alright with that.

The hypocrisy that Caymen and her mother shared didn’t annoy me because it reminded me of Gilmore Girls. There is a twist with her mother that I found very surprising. I was mad at first but after she started explaining herself I understood her reasons. All in all she was a good mother doing what she thought was best.

I only had one problem with this book. I felt that towards the end it was rushed. Everything was going smoothly up until the end. It wasn’t a bad ending, but it could’ve been better.

Overall this was a great book! I thoroughly enjoyed it! I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quick chick lit and fans of contemporary books.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: The Distance Between Us

Leave a Reply

