Review: The Fate of Ten

The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The sixth book in the thrilling, action-packed, New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series! For years the Garde have fought the Mogadorians in secret. Now all of that has changed. The invasion has begun. If the Garde can’t find a way to stop the Mogs, humanity will suffer the same fate as the Lorien: annihilation.

There is still hope. When the Elders sent the Garde to Earth, they had a planโ€”one which the Garde are finally starting to understand. In the climax of The Revenge of Seven, a group of the Garde traveled to an ancient pyramid in Mexico known to their people as the Sanctuary. There they awoke a power that had been hidden within our planet for generations. Now this power can save the world . . . or destroy it. It will all depend on who wields it.

Beware spoilers ahead!

After reading the last book I was excited to see what would happen in this book! As soon as I got free I picked it up. Unfortunately I did not enjoy this.

This book begins with a prologue. An unknown girl is watching the news as the Mogs start attacking New York. She hears some screams below and her step-father urges her to ran away. She takes some stuff with her and makes a dash for it. Unfortunately she is found by some Mogs. On some reflex she throws her hands up. Some how they are thrown against the wall. She hears them mutter ‘Garde’. Taking this as a distraction she runs away. She realizes that she has some powers and she is going to use it on the Mogs.

Sam and John are still fighting along with some survivors they saved. John is completely exhausted and assumes that they have been fighting for hours. Eventually he collapses from pure exhaustion. They manage to convince the police officer to take the survivors with him. The two of them find an abandoned building and rest. When John wakes up again he finds that the news is reporting two Garde fighting. He assumes that it’s Five and Nine. Sam and John go to get them.

Six, Marina, and Adam exit The Sanctuary. Six doesn’t feel any wiser, in fact she feels far more confused. Adam is weirded out and uncomfortable. While Marina is sad yet at ease. They find Dust paralyzed and their ship won’t work. After some investigating they realize that Phiri must have done something to Dust and their ship. Adam comes up with a plan. He proposes that they split up and make sure Phiri finds Marina. Marina gets mad at Adam because she thinks he is suggesting that she is weak. He retorts saying that they want to make Phiri believe that.

Adam’s plan works but in the process the missing part of their ship explodes which leaves them stranded with Phiri. Adam tries to kill Phiri but Marina says that it isn’t fair because she isn’t armed and is tied up. Six agrees and they make it back to their ship with Phiri captive. Adam thinks that he might be able to build them a new part.

Sam and John don’t find Nine or Five. Instead they find Daniela the girl in the prologue. She demonstrates her abilities and asks why and how she has them. John and Sam are in complete shock. They assumed it was only Sam that developed Legacies not other people on earth. They are interrupted by the Anubis. The three of them decide to run because they will not be able to fight of all of them. Once they reach safety Ella contacts John.

Mark, Sarah, Five, Bernie Kosar, and GUARD (Marks contact) do make any appearance in this book. I have to admit it was interesting. Well except for Five because he was annoying. Do not fret Nine is alive and well. Although there is a death at the end of this book. There are new characters introduced at the end of this book. John also develops a new legacy.

When I started reading this I was surprised by how the writing style bothered me. I didn’t realize until now how plain the writing is. I guess it’s because I was invested in the plot so it didn’t bother me. The inconsistencies and abrupt character changes really bothered me in this book. There has always been inconsistencies with the plot (this becomes more evident when you read the novellas) as well as the character change but it really got on my nerves in this book.

I did not like the idea of Lorien coming to earth. It was a possibility in the last book but I didn’t think it would become a reality. A few years back I had the whole plot predicated. While it isn’t bad that my predication isn’t true (it’s happened before) I do not like the plot direction. It feels redundant that Lorien is on earth and now there are new Garde. Like a lot of people I just assumed that Eight was able to transfer his Legacies into Sam. Which is what happened with Adam.

The Entity was utterly useless! The only thing the Entity did was give humans legacies, show them Ra’s and Pittacus’s past, and show the characters what Pittacus’s Legacy is. In the process of this Ra has seen the faces of these new Garde and has promised to hunt them down. I really hope he doesn’t have photographic memory. Otherwise these newbie’s are screwed.

Adam and Walked were still treated badly in this book. They have done a lot to prove themselves but the others still don’t trust them. It was stupid and unfair.

Up until now I never realized how perfect the authors have made John to be. I personally found that Adam is more capable of leading them. Considering how he knows some information on the Mogs and his experience. He’s also a good strategist. Although John is very good at keeping everyone’s faith and keeping them together. But seriously it’s like John has no flaw. I’m honestly baffled that I am only realizing this now.

Marina was incredibility annoying and frustrating to read about! I was so fed up of her preaching. She develops this religious affiliation with The Sanctuary. I was surprised considering how much she hated Church and the Nuns. You’d think that she would have had that when she was in Church. But apparently because The Entity wanted to talk to her and gave her some closure with Eight, she only started caring now. Then she kept on telling Adam and Six not to kill Phiri. She even stopped Mark from killing her. This got them in trouble because Phiri ended up going back with Ra. I was happy when Six and Adam ended up giving it to her.

Overall this was frustrating and disappointing. I am still going to read the last book so that I know how it ends. I recommend this to fans of the series. I hope you enjoy this more than I did!

View all my reviews

8 thoughts on “Review: The Fate of Ten

Leave a Reply

