Review: How to Break a Heart

How to Break a Heart by Kiera Stewart

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

This time, even ice cream won’t help. 

Nick Wainwright is definitely the love of thirteen-year-old Mabry Collins’s life, and when he dumps her in the most mortifying way possible, her heart is shattered. So, maybe they’d never kissed, but they had shared something special. They’d shared LOVE. True love. She’s sure of it. 

And Mabry would know. She’s watched countless episodes of her favorite telenovela with her best friend, Sirina, and the characters have taught her everything about romance. 

But when Sirina’s usual methods for comforting Mabry fail, she has an idea: it’s time for Mabry to break a heart of her own. And who better than Thad Bell to teach Mabry how to do it? He was the source of her very first heartbreak, and he seems to have his own reasons for wanting to see Nick suffer.

Mabry decides to give it a shot, but she’s pretty sure Thad’s advice will lead to disaster. After all, his sole passion is a burrito with extra hot sauce. Anyone with any sense knows that true love doesn’t come in a foil wrapper! But if Thad can help her win back-um, that is, break-Nick’s heart, then it might just be worth it. 

I received this E-ARC via Netgalley and Disney Hyperion in exchange for an honest review.

DNF

I was really excited to see this on Netgalley. I had kept on eye on this for months to see when I could request it. When the time came I did so. Unfortunately when I started reading this I did not enjoy this. Seeing as I didn’t really get that far in this I am not going to use a spoiler tag.

This book begins with Marby and her best friend Sirina watching her favourite telenovela. Marby gets a call from her boyfriend Nick. She picks up and a woman answers. Marby’s first assumption is that Nick is cheating on her with a woman. The woman turns out to be Nick’s mother. His mother explains that Nick is currently in karate practice. She says that he wants to take karate seriously therefore he wants to break up with Marby. And has his mother do it. Marby is a mess because she believes that she and Nick are meant to be. I did not read farther.

I found Marby to be annoying, very dramatic, and kind of crazy. She had a very big obsession with the idea of love and the telenovela. She truly believed that she and Nick were meant to be. And rather than being angry at Nick she is still in love with him.

I understand that she was upset about the break up but I was surprised that she wasn’t mad at him. I mean he did get his mom to break up with her. That was pretty low. Instead Marby believed that his mother wanted him to focus on karate and his mother pressured him into breaking up. It was probably because the week before the book begins she told him that she loved him. He probably freaked out.

When I read about the beginning of the telenovela I found it to be ridiculous and over dramatic. I hate shows like that. It gives me a headache and it is annoying to keep up with all the drama.

The only nice thing I have to say is that this book is funny! Some of Marby’s dramatic behaviour was amusing to read about. Especially when she tried to get out of going to school by claiming that she had Alice in Wonderland syndrome.

Overall this was not good book. I cannot recommend this to anyone.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: How to Break a Heart

Leave a Reply

