Review: The Fixer

The FixerThe Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

Beware spoilers ahead!

When I first heard about this book the only thing that went through my mind was the fact that it is compared to Heist Society. Naturally I added it thinking it would be an excellent heist and espionage novel. Then one day I decided to read the synopsis again and warning bells went off in my head. The idea of a ‘Fixer’ sounded odd and I am not a fan of books that have politics in it. Nonetheless I wanted to read it because of Tess. Unfortunately I did not enjoy the book.

The book begins with Tess in history class. From what she can figure her history teacher has a thing for picking on a particular student. Tess has a thing against bullies and stands up for the boy. Which lands her in the guidance counselors office.

The guidance counselor is worried about Tess. Tess has pretty much isolated herself from her peers in the beginning of the school year. The guidance counselor tries calling Tess’s grandfather but he doesn’t pick up. She says that she will call later on. Tess makes it very clear to the counselor that her history teacher loves to pick on that student. Said student always leaves the class feeling stupid. She explains that she has no tolerance for bullies and that her grandfather also knows that. She then leaves.

Once she reaches home she finds her estranged sister Ivy is there. Ivy explains that the guidance counselor called her and that they need to talk. She coolly tells her sister that they can talk after Tess is out of the shower. She takes a quick shower hoping that Ivy won’t run into her grandfather.

She goes downstairs happy to find that her grandfather is on his own. They talk for a bit before Ivy shows up. Ivy and the readers discover that her grandfather has Alzheimer’s. Which is why Tess separated herself from her peers so that they wouldn’t discover it. She does not want to separate from her grandfather. Ivy arranges for him to go to a hospital and she takes Tess with her to DC.

When Tess reaches DC she finds it odd how people keep making a big deal of Ivy. Eventually she asks her school guide Vivie what Ivy does for a living. Vivie explains that Ivy is a Fixer. If there is any government problem Ivy makes it go away. By complete accident Tess gets herself wrapped up in ‘Fixing’ problems.

This wasn’t a bad book it just wasn’t for me. The political stuff gets complicated and I don’t see the point in continuing the series. Their wasn’t as much heist and espionage as I would’ve liked. There was a bigger focus on the political scandals.

The writing style was pretty good! I liked how there wasn’t any romance in the book. And I loved Tess’s character! I loved how she stood up for people. No matter if the bully was some rich and powerful person. Despite the fact that Tess doesn’t like Ivy, she does care for because Ivy’s family.

Overall this book wasn’t for me. I would recommend it to fans of political drama and the author.

View all my reviews

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: The Fixer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s