Review: I’ll Meet You There

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom—that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she’s ever worked for is on the line.Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

Beware spoilers ahead!

DNF

I had heard of this book from a few friends. Deciding to add some more books I added this book. Before putting it on hold through my local library I downloaded the sample from iBooks. I did not enjoy what I read.

The book begins with a party for Skylar and her friends graduation party. As well as the welcome home party for Josh. Most of the kids at the party are drunk. Their taking the welcome home party as an excuse to drink even more.

Skylar and her friends talk for a bit. She suggest looking for Josh but her friend Chris who doesn’t like Josh says no. Eventually they run into Josh and are shocked to see that he is missing a leg.

That is about all I can remember from the sample. I decided not to get it from my local library because I really didn’t like the characters. It was extremely offending how the kids at the party saw Josh’s return as a reason to have more beer. They didn’t go and greet him, they just drank. Mind you these were not the main characters but it still annoyed me. And on top of that they swore way too much for my liking. These are personal reasons of why I didn’t enjoy it.

Overall I did not enjoy this. I cannot bring myself to recommend this to others.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: I’ll Meet You There

  1. Wow, I mean, it seems like the beginning affected you a lot, and in a very negative way. That’s okay. It happens. There are so many things characters sometimes say that irk me. Actually, every time a character negatively judges another character, it lowers my opinion of them. And this comes from personal experience. Sorry it was a dud! I remember enjoying it, but there are so many YA contemporaries out there much, much better than this one! Have you ever read Know Not Why? I strongly suggest you do not read my review, though, because it sucks. PLEASE DON’T.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

