Review: Thanks for the Trouble

25532845

Thanks for the trouble by: Tommy Wallach

My Rating: 2 of 5 Stars

“I’ve got some questions for you. Was this story written about me?”

I shrugged.

“Yes or no?”

I shrugged again, finally earning a little scowl, which somehow made the girl even more pretty. It brought a bloom to her pale cheeks and made sharp shelves of her cheekbones.

“It’s very rude not to answer simple questions,” she said.

I gestured for my journal, but she still wouldn’t give it to me. So I took out my pen and wrote I can’t on my palm.

Then, in tiny letters below it, I finished the thought: Now don’t you feel like a jerk?

Parker Santé hasn’t spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he’ll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for.

Beware spoilers ahead!

DNF

I had heard about this author through his debut and his posts during the Paris attacks. After hearing about some of his views during the Paris attacks I refused to read any of his books. Then out of curiosity I decided to read the sample of this book from iBooks. I was honestly surprised! It was so good! Then I realized that it wasn’t fair to judge him based on his opinions. I wouldn’t like it if someone judged me for stating my opinions. As a reviewer and reader we shouldn’t be judging people based on whether or not you like a book. So I decided to let it go and buy this book. Unfortunately I didn’t enjoy this.

The book begins in third person talking about a Hispanic boy entering a hotel. Then in between it switches to first point of view with Parker narrating the book. You then find out that Parker is applying to a University. The question said University asked about his most important experience of his life.

We are then taken to Halloween. Parker decides to ditch school because he doesn’t understand why school’s still open during Halloween. He enters the Palace Hotel and decides to just take in his surroundings. He orders a coffee at the restaurant. He hears a girl speaking and looks to see where the voice is coming from. He sees a girl with silver hair conversing with the waiter. Intrigued he continues to watch her.

During the girl’s conversation she hands the waiter a huge wad of cash. Parker is surprised and realizing that this girl is very rich. Parker then decides to write in his journal. By the time he looks up again to where the girl is sitting she isn’t there. And she left her purse behind. Parker he steals her money and makes a run for it.

But when he looks back he sees that the girl has returned and is reading his journal. He doesn’t record daily activities in there, instead he writes short stories. And the silver haired girl is reading the story he wrote about her.

As I said earlier I fell in love with the writing style! It was like hearing Parker talking to you. And he had a compelling voice. Even if I didn’t agree with what he said I couldn’t help but sit there being engaged and glue to the book. Parker speaks with such confidence that you just have to listen to him and understand where he’s coming from. I have a feeling that the author must be a very good presenter. When I got to reading about Zelda I loved the way she spoke and the things she said!

I was so excited that I started skimming the book. It was then that I realized that while I loved the writing style and Zelda this book is not for me. This isn’t the type of contemporary that I enjoy. Although yes it is very realistic I just couldn’t bring myself to finish the book.

Overall this book wasn’t for me. But I still recommend it. I don’t regret reading this.

One thought on “Review: Thanks for the Trouble

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

