Review: Defending Taylor

29347915

Defending Taylor by: Miranda Kenneally

My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

There are no mistakes in love.

Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor’s always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that’s what is expected of a senator’s daughter. But one impulsive decision-one lie to cover for her boyfriend-and Taylor’s kicked out of private school. Everything she’s worked so hard for is gone, and now she’s starting over at Hundred Oaks High.

Soccer has always been Taylor’s escape from the pressures of school and family, but it’s hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she’s going through is her older brother’s best friend, Ezra. Taylor’s had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it’s hard to trust after having been betrayed. Will Taylor repeat her past mistakes or can she score a fresh start?

Beware spoilers ahead!

I received this E-ARC via Sourcebooks Fire and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

When I first saw this on Netgalley I didn’t think much of it. Of course I had heard about this author and all her previous books. I read the synopsis and it sounded decent. Nothing exceptional or special. I decided to request it regardless. I wanted to give it a shot. I am so surprised that I really enjoyed it!

The book begins with Taylor transferring to Hundred Oaks. Two weeks prior to the book she claimed that the 30 pills of Adderall in the backpack were hers. Some doctors tested her and found Adderall in her system. Despite her family’s big name Taylor was expelled from St. Andrews.

Taylor’s not happy about how everything turned out. She was hoping that her family’s name would save her. Her father is the Senator. But once her father found out what happened he refused. Saying that Taylor should figure out how to get out of this mess. Now that Taylor is in Hundred Oaks she’s not sure whether or not she’ll get into Yale.

On her second day of school Taylor decides to drop by to get some coffee. In the store she runs into Ezra. Her brothers best friend and her ex-crush. Taylor is quite surprised to see Ezra as he’s supposed to be University. They talk for a bit then Ezra leaves. And Taylor goes to school.

Taylor decides that in order to get into Yale she’ll need to get some extracurricular activities.She was the co-captain of St. Andrews soccer team. Taylor decides to join Hundred Oaks soccer team. She’s accepted right away as they need some more girls for team.

Once she arrives for practice it doesn’t go too well. The Captain Nicole tries her best to make Taylor miserable and the coach only sees soccer as an extra paycheck. On top of that Taylor tries to stop herself from getting involved with Ezra. All while trying to avoid screwing up.

I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this book! The writing style was spot on as were the characters. I really felt for Taylor. It sucked that she was expelled and now her family doesn’t trust her. She puts herself through so much pressure to try and please her parents and to get into Yale.

I loved reading about Taylor and her family! Their interactions were spot on! I especially loved Taylor’s relationship with her father. It was nice when they sorted everything out. I also liked reading about Ezra and her. He was so sweet! They were perfect for each other.

I liked how the author incorporated the pressure a high schooler faces with school. And how they sometimes resort to drugs. It was a nice touch and completely realistic. There was also much more to Taylor getting expelled. I felt that added layers to Taylor’s character. I liked how the author shows you that while everyone makes mistakes you can get back up and find a way to work everything out. The epilogue was sweet.

I only had two problems with this book. Despite how the synopsis mentions that Taylor tries her utmost to avoid Ezra, it is not true. I felt that there wasn’t enough tension between the two of them. I expected Taylor to try harder. But once they actually started talking she stopped trying and fell head first. Also I felt that some things were rushed. There wasn’t a resolution to the coach and Nicole. Which was weird. I expected Taylor and Nicole to somehow work something out. And maybe they get a new coach. But I guess in reality that doesn’t happen. So in a way it was realistic.

Overall this was a great book! I recommend it to everyone. Anyone can find something in here to relate to. Also you don’t have to read the authors previous works to read this book.

 

One thought on “Review: Defending Taylor

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

