Review: Summer of Sloane

29565230

Summer of Sloane by: Erin L. Schneider 

My Rating: 3 of 5 Stars

Warm Hawaiian sun. Lazy beach days. Flirty texts with her boyfriend back in Seattle.

These are the things seventeen-year-old Sloane McIntyre pictured when she imagined the summer she’d be spending at her mom’s home in Hawaii with her twin brother, Penn. Instead, after learning an unthinkable secret about her boyfriend, Tyler, and best friend, Mick, all she has is a fractured hand and a completely shattered heart.

Once she arrives in Honolulu, though, Sloane hopes that Hawaii might just be the escape she needs. With beach bonfires, old friends, exotic food, and the wonders of a waterproof cast, there’s no reason Sloane shouldn’t enjoy her summer. And when she meets Finn McAllister, the handsome son of a hotel magnate who doesn’t always play by the rules, she knows he’s the perfect distraction from everything that’s so wrong back home.

But it turns out a measly ocean isn’t nearly enough to stop all the emails, texts, and voicemails from her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend, desperate to explain away their betrayal. And as her casual connection with Finn grows deeper, Sloane’s carefree summer might not be as easy to find as she’d hoped. Weighing years of history with Mick and Tyler against their deception, and the delicate possibility of new love, Sloane must decide when to forgive, and when to live for herself.

Beware spoilers ahead!

I received this E-ARC via Disney Hyperion and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

I had heard about this book through Netgalley. I was in a bit of a contemporary funk and it sounded really good. So naturally I wished for it and when it became available I requested it. I am happy to say that I enjoyed it!

The book starts off with Sloane and her best friend at the park. Her best friend Mick tells Sloane that she’s pregnant and that she never meant to hurt Sloane. Sloane confused asks what she’s talking about and Mick replies that the baby’s father is Tyler. Sloane’s boyfriend. Sloane rightfully flips out and asks why they betrayed her. In the middle of all this Sloane has an asthma attack. Once she calms herself she runs away from Mick.

Sloane arrives home and finds Tyler’s car parked in her garage. She decides to ignore but he catches her attention. Tyler explains that it was a mistake and that he doesn’t care about Mick that way, he loves Sloane. Sloane in a fight of rage punches Tyler in the nose. But she doesn’t tuck her thumb in and hurts herself.

Much to her dismay she is told by the doctor that she has fractured her hand. And now she’ll have to wear a cast. Sloane leaves for Hawaii the next day and ignores all of Tyler and Micks messages. She vows to make this summer about her and no one is going to ruin it for her.

At the time I wished for it I thought for sure that I would love it! But then I started noticing all the bad reviews. And my expectations went lower. I honestly thought that I would DNF this after reading the first chapter. But I stuck it out because I liked Sloane and wanted to see how her story ended.

It was nice to read about Hawaii! It sounded so beautiful and made me wish I could swim. The family relationships were well done! I liked reading about Sloane and her family. While yes her brother came in more than her parents, they were still there for her whenever she needed them. Also Finn and his sister Luce were also very close. The writing style was good and I felt that it portrayed being a teenager and high school realistically. There are text messages and emails in this book as Tyler and Mick both tried desperately to contact Sloane.

Sloane was a good character. She spoke her mind whenever it felt necessary and was a fairly reasonable person. Her pain was realistic and I did feel for her. She grow into this lovely and confident character by the end of the book. And she started making decisions based on her happiness not someone else’s. She was inseparable from her brother. I liked how the author decided to give Sloane asthma. Interesting fact: it was recommended for those who have asthma to swim. I loved reading about Sloane’s friendships as well! I absolutely adored Mia! And I even liked Tyler.

Sloane does eventually find it in herself to forgive Tyler and Mick. But they don’t go back to the way they were. Which made sense. I would’ve taken just as long to forgive them if it were me, and once I did forgive them it wouldn’t ever be the same. Tyler amongst the two of them actually seemed sincere. Some time after Mick sends several text messages, emails, and letters, she got really mean. Mick started pointing fingers at Sloane and acted as if she deserved to be forgiven right away. I understood that Mick had a lot going on and she wanted her best friend back so she could talk about the baby. But she should’ve also realized that these things take time.

All the characters were realistic as were their relationships. And some of the pain they have felt never fully went away. But I liked how most of the characters had a positive outlook, were reasonable, and made mostly good decisions. I loved how the cheating was handled in this book! It wasn’t black and white but grey and I understood it. 

I didn’t understand the relationship between Finn and Sloane. At first they were attracted to each other and most of their conversations were sarcastic. The sarcasm was not at all funny. It was rude and bitter. Not sure what on earth Sloane saw in him. There is a lot of partying and underage drinking. And it was slightly dramatic with a lot of almost cheating. 

I felt mostly in different to Finn. I didn’t like him in the beginning because he was rude and bitter. As the book progressed I did see the appeal and that he was good for Sloane. But I still didn’t like him. As par every contemporary Finn and Sloane do get into a fight in this book. I did understand where they were both coming from. If I were Sloane I wouldn’t have forgiven Finn that quickly. But I admire Sloane for being very understanding. Nonetheless I liked this book!

Overall this was a good book! I recommend it to contemporary fans who like their contemporaries slightly dramatic. 

3 thoughts on “Review: Summer of Sloane

  1. Hi, Fafa! I’m Simona from Goodreads 🙂 I just wanted to drop by! Your reviews are interesting and well.written as always. Happy reading! 😀

    (My blog is in Italian and anyways I don’t write much on it, you don’t need to subscribe or follow :3)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

