Review: A Darker Shade of Sorcery

28602062

A Darker Shade of Sorcery by: William Collins 

My Rating: 2 of 5 Stars

The lonely and grieving Evan Umbra is the newest Venator to enter Veneseron, the school for demon hunters.

A Venator is a wizard, a spy and a demon hunter rolled into one. They’re taught how to wield their sorcery and enchanted weaponry by orcs, elfpires and aliens alike.
Their missions range from battling monsters and saving countless lives in the multiple worlds, to the more peculiar, like wrangling killer unicorns and calming down drunken yetis.
In their free time Venators enjoy goblin soap-opera’s and underwater bubble travel, but they also understand that every new mission they’re given could be their last.
Whilst learning how to manipulate the elements, summon magical creatures and shoot Spellzookas, Evan meets a girl who makes him feel nauseous; but in a good way.

He makes the first friends he’s ever had in the carefree Jed and the reckless Brooke. Whilst Jed gets on the wrong side of a rival Venator, Brooke finds herself falling for the enigmatic demon hunter who brought her to Veneseron, not knowing he isn’t quite human. But it soon becomes apparent that Evan is more than just a Venator. Everyone wants to kill or capture him, from demons to Dark-Venators and even people he’s supposed to be able to trust.

Evan reckons he probably won’t survive his first year at Veneseron.

Beware spoilers ahead!

DNF

I received this E-ARC via the author in exchange for an honest review.

When I got the email from Collins asking me to read A Darker Shade of Sorcery I immediately said yes! I love fantasy and paranormal books! This sounded right up my alley. Unfortunately I did not enjoy this.

The book begins with Evan mentioning that his grandmother recently passed away. He is constantly haunted by her death and has nightmares about her. It doesn’t help that he has bullies bothering him everywhere he goes.

While trying yet again to outrun the bullies a monster appears. At first Evan doesn’t notice anything as his back is toward the monster. But the bullies faces go pale and one of them is murdered by the monster. Then Evan turns around and finds himself face-to-face with a horrifying monster. The monster speaks to him and kidnaps him.

This was a case of ‘It’s not you but me.’ As I continued to read I felt no connection to the story. While the pace was fast and it was engaging I felt nothing. I should’ve felt really bad for Evan but even when he mentioned his grandmother it didn’t pull on my heart strings. I have given this book a two star because the premise sounds interesting.

Overall this book was not for me. I recommend it to anyone looking for a good fantasy series.

2 thoughts on “Review: A Darker Shade of Sorcery

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

