Review: Endangered

29360229

Endangered by: Dani Hoots

My Rating 2 of 5 Stars

Chrys has been in the Underworld for thousands of years, hidden away by her father, Hades, from all of the other gods. He’s afraid that if someone finds out about her, they will destroy her because of the dichotomous power that she holds, the power of life and death. So she has remained in the Palace of Hades all her life, making very few friends and always bored out of her mind.

Huntley would have never guessed that after he died he would wake up with a beautiful girl standing over him. And that she would be the Dark Lord of the Underworld’s daughter. Yet, for some reason, she keeps him around as her tutor, as if he knows anything about the world. But Huntley knows that all she really wants is a friend; being trapped in the Underworld can get pretty lonely.

That is, until Chrys decides she wants to run away to the human world after a big fight with her mother Persephone. Chrys claims her father is just over reacting and that nothing bad will come of it. There’s no way that the gods will notice she’s there for only a couple of days…right?

Beware spoilers ahead!

DNF

I received this E-ARC via Victory Editing and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I had heard about this book through some friends on GR. It sounded like a light fantasy which I enjoy so I requested it. Unfortunately I did not enjoy it.

The book begins with Chrys and her father Hades. Chrys has been told by her father that she needs to sit and watch him judge people. To see which parts of the underworld said people will go to. At this point Chrys is so used to the begging and screaming that she doesn’t care. The only thing Chrys wants is for this to be over so she can start her tutor session with Hunter.

I didn’t finish this because I felt that this was too light for my taste. I felt that at some point it would become ridiculous so I just dropped it. This book is not for me.

However there were some things that I liked. I liked the writing style and the relationship between Chrys and Hades. It was a sweet father-daughter relationship. And slightly complex. These aspects were not enough to save the book for me.

Overall this book was not for me. I recommend it to anyone looking for a light mythology book series.

One thought on “Review: Endangered

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

