Review: Tooth Goblins

29345889

Tooth Goblins by: Ash Toroid 

My Rating: 2 of 5 Stars

When Ellie’s older brother is turning thirteen, she want’s to see the ‘transformation’ into a teenager for herself. Ellie hides in a cupboard and waits. She is shocked to witness her brother kidnapped by goblins and replaced with a clone. A passing Tooth-Fairy is drawn by the use of magic and gets caught up in the commotion, to discover that Ellie is descended from the legendary Merlin. Together they embark upon an adventure for Ellie to rescue her brother, whose destiny begins to take shape as he must attempt to incite a rebellion against the goblins that try to enslave him. The siblings’ combine their efforts with the fairies in their fateful struggle against the Tooth-Goblins.

Beware spoilers ahead!

DNF 

I received this E-ARC via the author in exchange for an honest review.

When Toroid emailed me asking whether I would like to read her book, I jumped and agreed! It sounded so cool and very unique! Unfortunately I did not enjoy this book.

The book begins with Ellie explaining that her brother is turning 13. She’s not looking forward to it. Ellie has heard that teenagers are terrible people. She’s afraid that her brother will have a drastic change overnight.

As Ellie is getting ready to go to bed she hears a noise coming from her brother’s room. She goes to check it out and to her shock she sees pixies carrying her brother away. Having no idea what to do Ellie hides in the closet and tries to find something she can hit the pixies with.

This was a case of ‘It’s not you but me.’ I didn’t like the writing style. I found it to be weird and couldn’t bring myself to read any more. I have given this book two stars because it sounds like an interesting book. 

Overall this book is not for me. I recommend it to anyone looking for a Middle Grade fantasy standalone. 

5 thoughts on “Review: Tooth Goblins

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

