Review: It’s All Your Fault

25664996

It’s All Your Fault by: Paul Rudnick

My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

My name is Caitlin and up until forty-eight hours ago I had never:

Tasted alcohol, kissed a boy, sang in public at the top of my lungs, kidnapped anyone or—WHAT? STOLEN A CONVERTIBLE?

Now I’m in jail and I have no idea what I’m going to tell:

The police, my parents, the mayor, all of those camera crews and everyone on Twitter.

I have just noticed that:

My nose is pierced and I have—WAIT? IS THAT A TATTOO?

I blame one person for this entire insane weekend:

My famous cousin.

Who is also my former best friend.

Who I have HATED for the past four years.

Who I miss like crazy. NO I DON’T!!!!

IT’S ALL YOUR FAULT, HELLER HARRIGAN!!!!

Beware spoilers ahead!

This book was recommended to me by my GR friend Anna! Click on her name to read her review. 

I had heard about this book in the beginning of the year. It was one of those books that for the most part went unnoticed. While the synopsis sounded hilarious it didn’t grab my attention. Then a few weeks back on Anna’s blog, her co-bloggers were putting books that they recommended. I saw It’s All Your Fault and found out that it was in my library. I thought ‘Why not’ as I’m always in search of hilarious books. I am happy to say that I enjoyed it! 

The book begins with Caitlin in jail. She explains what’s mentioned in the synopsis. Two more chapters of rambling and we’re then taken to beginning. Caitlin hasn’t been in contact with her famous cousin Hellar in four years. Much to Caitlin’s surprise her Aunt Nancy is over.

Aunt Nancy explains that over the past year Hellar has spiraled out of control.  Hellar developed an addiction and was sent to rehab. The next day Hellar would be released to do interviews and whatnot for her lasted movie Angel WarsAngel Wars is an extremely popular book series and everyone’s counting on Hellar not to screw up.

In order to ensure that Hellar doesn’t epically  screw up they want her to get some body guard. Aunt Nancy doesn’t want some random nobody guarding her. She asks Caitlin to be said bodyguard. Aunt Nancy explains that Hellars people don’t trust her and what better person to ask than Caitlin who is obedient and determined. At first Caitlin is hesitant because the last time she saw Hellar things didn’t end well. Caitlin agrees deciding that this is her mission from God. 

When Caitlin runs into Hellar again she realizes that her mission is much harder than she thought it would be. But nonetheless Caitlin continues on having faith in God and herself. While Hellar spends most of her time mad at Caitlin for ruining her fun, Caitlin carries on. That is until Hellar goes to meet a child with cancer for a Make-A-Wish program. Sophie (said girl) has this list of three things she wants to do. All of which include illegal activities.

Throughout this journey Caitlin and Hellar work together to make Sophie happy.Caitlin gets a glimpse into the life of a movie star and overcomes several of her fears. She also has a few sweet moments with Hellar and eventually the of them make up. Caitlin gains several new experiences. Some good most bad but comes to a conclusion about how she leads her life. 

I did not expect to enjoy this book! I thought that it would be a three star rating. This book surprised me in a good way! The book is written in first person in Caitlin’s point of view. There are chapter numbers and titles. Which was unique as I’ve never read a book formatted as such. It’s quite a small book with a large font. Note that I am talking about the hardcover edition. The writing style is good. I got a good understanding of all the characters. 

Caitlin is home schooled. Due to this she lacks a lot of understanding in social interaction. She’s also not that good at taking ques from people. What’s interesting about Caitlin is that she has anxiety. Throughout her life and the book she lets her anxiety define her. She doesn’t get out much because she’s too scared to. Which is why she doesn’t get along with Hellar. Hellar has a larger than life personality and lives her life to the fullest. This includes constantly doing reckless things to gain new experiences.

In the beginning to relationship between Hellar and Caitlin is quite tense. Throughout Caitlin’s body guard duties the two of them try to ignore what happened between them that ruined their relationship. When it comes time to talk they end up fighting. After having some time to think things through, the two do make up.

I really loved how the anxiety was dealt with in this book! I’ve never read about anxiety literally controlling someone’s life. It was interesting and well done. I found it so interesting how Caitlin needed to say tap an object three times otherwise nothing in her life would be alright. It was well researched and interesting to read about.

All the relationships were well done! Especially Hellar and Caitlin. They had so much history that it was hard for them to interact with one-another. I thought that I would dislike Hellar but I had no problem with her. She had a pretty hard life and did a well job pulling through. I liked reading about Hellar’s Hollywood life. I’ve never read about an actress before so it was really interesting. I will definitely keep a lookout for more books focusing on Hollywood.

While Caitlin was judgmental throughout the book I didn’t mind her either. I liked reading about how her faith in God pushed her through. Never once did she think about giving up. Instead she rationalized that nothing in life is easy so she plowed through. Their are several mentions about Christianity but it never bothered me. It intrigued me and I admired Caitlin. Caitlin also learns that no one can be perfect even in terms of religion. Which I think is an important lesson and I’m glad it was in the book.

The journey that Hellar, Caitlin and Sophie took was wild and completely crazy! But at the same time it was refreshing and fun to read about! I was never once annoyed instead I had a ball reading about the crazy things they did.

This book has a larger focus on the characters and the relationships with one-another. It has literally no romance which was refreshing to read about. I really appreciated how the larger focus was put on family.

I only had three problems with It’s All Your Fault. Some things that happened were completely unrealistic. The sentences were really long and almost run-on sentences. There were times that I just skimmed the sentences. And there were a lot of caps lock to express the characters shock or anger. Nonetheless I had tons of fun reading this book!

Overall this was a fun read! I recommend this to everyone because it’s a unique contemporary book. 

5 thoughts on “Review: It’s All Your Fault

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

