Review: The Flip Side

29556674

The Flip Side by: Shawn Johnson

My Rating: 2 of 5 Stars

From gold medalist and reality TV star Shawn Johnson comes a debut YA novel inspired by her own experiences as an elite teenage gymnast—just in time for the Summer 2016 Olympic games.

Charlie Ryland has a secret.

She may seem like your average high school sophomore—but she’s just really good at pretending.

Because outside of school Charlie spends all her waking hours training to become one of the best gymnasts in the world. And it’s not easy flying under the radar when you’re aiming for Olympic gold…especially when an irresistible guy comes along and threatens to throw your whole world off balance.

Inspired by her own experiences as a fifteen-year-old Olympic gymnast, gold medalist Shawn Johnson writes a delightfully entertaining novel about chasing big dreams and falling in love, all while trying to keep it real.

Beware spoilers ahead!

I received this E-ARC via Simon and Schuster Children’s Publishing and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

DNF

This book was recommended to me by my dear GR friend Lola! Click on her name to read her review. 

I had heard about this book through Lola’s review. It sounded pretty good and I was in the mood for something light to read. I requested it on Netgalley and much to my delight (and surprise) I got it! Unfortunately I didn’t enjoy this. 

The book begins with Charlie day dreaming about a competition. Reality comes back when her teacher makes a comment on her lack of knowledge on the government. Much to her dismay the lesson she day dreamed in will be coming in the test.

Her best friend suggests they study together. But that weekend Charlie will be having a competition. She tells said friend that she’ll be visiting her grandmothers and won’t be able to meet her and study.

When Charlie first got into gymnastics it was easier. Her schedule was more flexible and she didn’t have to worry about a thing. As she got older and enrolled into a different gymnastics course she started getting homeschooled. Charlie wanted a normal life. She wanted to go to high school and make friends. So her parents talked to the school and it was arranged. Charlie keeps her other life a secret so that they don’t clash. She finds it overwhelming to balance the two. Which is why she lies to her best friend about her plans.

The only problem I had was the writing style. It wasn’t so bad in the beginning but then it started to bother me. I actually wanted to reword some of the sentences. The plot in itself sounded interesting hence the two star. 

Overall I did not like the writing style. But I still recommend it because it does sound interesting. 

8 thoughts on “Review: The Flip Side

  1. Aww…I’m sorry this was a disappointment for you. 😦 I’m a gymnast myself so I was really excited for this, but now I’m not so sure. It’s always hard to love a book when you don’t like the writing style. Nonetheless, thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes my mother was a gymnastic as well. I think you should still give it a go. Everyone has a different preference with writing styles. And I’ve heard people say the gymnastic aspect is well done.

      Thank you Zoe 🙂

      Like

  2. Hahahaha! It does sound interesting. I requested it in Edelweiss and Netgalley but unfortunately, the two of them declined. I am glad to read your review since this gave me an idea on the book. I am pretty much particular when it comes to writing syle. A good book always captivates with a beautiful writing style. But with this novel, upon reading your review, I not so sure anymore if I want to read it. Thanks though. 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016 | Fafa's Book Corner

Leave a Reply

